Went to the gym yesterday... Holy shit...
Now, you need to understand something. I haven't set foot in a gym since I was at school, and that was quite a while back. A gym to me was a big hall, with a nice wooden floor which resembled the aft deck of a Cunard ocean liner, but with lines painted all over it in different colours marking out various games courts. A wooden horse thing that looked nothing like a horse, some ropes attached to somewhere up above, some with little wooden hoops on, some long low benches, a trampette and a cupboard with assorted balls and bats in. Oh yeah, there was a stage too, memories of early teenage guitar slingin' days are coming back to me now... Oooh yeah baby, "Smoke on the Water", but that's another story.
Have you seen all the crazy shit they have in these places nowadays? Even our little local gym has pieces of equipment in it that look like space age versions of mechanical implements of torture from the Spanish Inquisition. Don't get me wrong, I have driven past some of these glass fronted palaces of fitness and seen some wonderful things, I even made enquiries as to join such an establishment. Most recently when I was back down in London a couple of years ago. Well, thought I should make an effort being as the girlfriend at the time was rather fit, and 20 years younger than me. Anyway, I got as far as looking at the brochure and getting confused about the terms of membership, session times, price plan and then started to worry about how the key and deposit system worked for the lockers. Then the girlfriend's student visa ran out and she had to go back to the Ukraine to do national service or something. Complete disaster... What with that and school, totally put me off gyms.
Shit, can't remember what the point of telling you about the gym was...! Oh yeah, there is no point. Just that I went to the gym for the first time yesterday and it bloody hurts more today. Not only that, but I'm going back for more and it's got nothing to do with girls, cars or guitars...
Is there something wrong with me...?